This is a list of our Parish and Community groups and notices which relate to each. Click on the group name below for more information. If you would like your community group or service to appear on our website please contact the Parish Office.

Priorswood Scouts

Where we are

The Priorswood Scout den is situated beside Saint Francis Church, the entrance is located at the Clonshaugh shopping centre beside the churches side gate.

What we are

We are a Scout group that caters for both boys and girls between the ages of 6yrs to 16 yrs The Beaver meeting takes place on a Tuesday evening between 6.00pm to 7.15pm for boys and girls between the ages of 6yrs to 8yrs.

The Cub meeting takes place on a Wednesday evening between 7.15pm to 8.45pm for boys and girls between the ages of 8yrs to 11 yrs.

The Scout meeting takes place on a Tuesday evening between 7.30pm to 9.15pm for boys and girls between the ages of 11yrs to 16yrs.

There is a various range of activities that the sections take part in which include, Hill walking,

Camping and hosteling weekends, day trips, canoeing and rock climbing (we even have our own rock-climbing wall in the scout den). The highlight of the year is the annual camp.

New members are always welcome just drop along to one of the meetings and speak to the leader team, or maybe you have been involved with the unit previously as a Beaver /Cub / Scout or leader and would like to get involved again with one of the leader teams, we would be delighted to hear from you.

Our history in brief

The130th Scout Unit was formed in February 1977 at the request of St Francis Church so that young people from the area could have some place to go and be trained in the manner of Scouting. (The association with St Francis church continues to this day and without who’s help the building of the Scout den could not have been possible.

The Scout unit held its first meeting in the St Francis junior school main hall. The first summer camp took place in July 1977 to the Jamborra in Mount Mellary Co Waterford A year later we were given a pre-fab in the old Clonshaugh school, Clonshaugh Road. This was to be the Scout den for the next 15years.

In 1993 vandals burned down the den. It was decided that all efforts would be made to build a new scout den. The priests of the parish (Fr Tom Rock & Fr Terrance Harrington) were influential in securing a plot of land beside the church for the purpose of building a new Scout Den.

It was decided to form a fundraising committee whose aim was to secure the funds to commence the building of the new Scout den. The turning of the first sod took place in July 1994.This committee would be lead by the then unit Leader Mr Barney Baitson, whose Trojan efforts resulted in the fabulous den we have today. The committee was made up of parents from the unit, they were Owen McKenna, Mick Byrne, Ken McCormick, Declan Cahill, Gerry Charles and Eamonn Fahy. (Thanks Guys for all your help)

On Sunday 18th May the dream of a new den was realised when the official opening was held. The den was opened by the chief Scout Mr Joe Lawlor.

Our Scouts who have gone home

Barney Baitson

Fr Tom Rock

Tony Mallone

Ken McCormick

Current leader team

Beaver:  Angelina Scanlon , Darragh Martin, Aaron Beveridge

Cub Section: Eamonn Burrows, Antoinette Stone, Brian Murphy, Daryl Shelley

Scout Section: John Stone, Joey Moore, Niall O’Brien, Katie Bannon

Past leaders hall of fame

Tony Baitson, Derek Murphy, Jim Farrell, Jean Baitson, Teresa Kavanagh, Sharon Hammond, Breda Dillon, Lucy Dowd, Peter Barriscal, Bernadette Hudson, Maureen Byrne, Ruth Heffernan, Catherine McClean, Catherine Healy, Kathy Murphy, June Long, Aine O’Shea, Elaine O’Leary, Karen Long, John Gibson, Mary Maloney, Laura Clancy, Paul Walsh, Nuala Quinn, Michael McClean, Steven Nolan, Brian Baitson, Paul Sheridan, Patrick McCarney, John McEvoy, Martina M Heary, Dave Hogan, Michael Cahill, Gareth Downes, Damien Biddulph, Gerard Gibson, Tara Lindsey, Paul McClean, Barney Baitson, Ann Heffernan, Eddie Larkin, Paul O’Neill, Gillian Lyons, Tom Ryan,Pat Boylan, Teresa McQuirk, Mark Boyd, Leanne Farrelly, Gary Grawford, Mary Fahy, Tony Malone, Antoinette Madden, Veronica Cahill, Gillian McFetridge, Adian O’Brien, Aoife McCormick, Jennifer Murphy, Melissia Keoghan, Connor McKenna. Claire O’Neill

For more information


St Francis Ladies Club

St Francis Ladies Club, Meet every 2nd Wednesday 8.45pm- 10.30pm in the prefabs located beside the CPD on Clonshaugh Drive. Activities include, Bingo, Book Club, Games and a wide range of hobbies and activities. New members are always welcome!

Tel : 01 847 4469 | Email :
Copyright 2010 St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Priorswood All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Parish Websites, Design by acton|web